Joe Jacoby Among 26 Semifinalists For Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2015

Former Washington Redskins offensive tackle Joe Jacoby, who spent 13 seasons in the burgundy and gold, is among 26 semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2015.

This is the third straight year Jacoby has been named a semifinalist and fifth overall. He has yet to be named a finalist since his eligibility began in 1999.

Embed from Getty Images

Jacoby joined the Redskins as an undrafted free agent out of Louisville in 1981 and played until 1993. He appeared in four consecutive Pro Bowls from 1983-1986 and appeared in four Super Bowls, including all three of the franchise’s victories in 1983, 1988 and 1992.

His reign as the bookend left tackle of The Hogs included 171 career starts and helped paved the way for the best era in Washington Redskins history.

He is now the offensive line coach at Concordia University Chicago.

Typically 25 semifinalists are selected but there was a tie for the final spot. Selection committee bylaws dictate the extra vote carry over in the case of a tie.

The list of semifinalists, officially unveiled Tuesday night on NFL Network, includes the following:

Morten Andersen, Steve Atwater, Jerome Bettis, Tim Brown, Isaac Bruce
Don Coryell, Roger Craig, Terrell Davis, Tony Dungy, Kevin Greene, Charles Haley, Marvin Harrison, Torry Holt, Edgerrin James, Jimmy Johnson, Mike Kenn, Ty Law, John Lynch, Kevin Mawae, Karl Mecklenburg, Orlando Pace, Junior Seau, Will Shields, Kurt Warner and Darren Woodson.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s